How to Include Diverse Perspectives in Meetings

Rule 6: Embrace diversity.
Deep Dive with Dr. Alison Wood Brooks

October 6, 2020 9 AM PT/ 12 PM ET / 17:00 London (See in your timezone)

Register to Join Live  October 6 with Alison Wood Brooks

Limit 100 participants.

While there's a long way to go, many companies are actively improving the diversity of their workforces. But changing the diversity of who shows up to a meeting doesn't automatically translate to a change in who talks and who's voice gets heard.

In her innovative course on "How to Talk Gooder in Business and Life," Alison teaches Harvard Business students the sometimes counterintuitive conversational tools they can use to engage in high-quality, inclusive dialogue.

In this session, Alison will share insights from hot, fresh research on how to best involve people who haven't previously engaged in team meetings. (Hint: It's not what you think.) Then, we'll work in small groups to explore these ideas and practice the skills she'll share.

Session Takeaways

Join us if you want to:

  • Learn how to include diverse voices in your meetings (and what not to do).
  • Explore how power and personality dynamics impact conversation quality.
  • Create ideas for inviting new voices in your meetings.
  • Get Inspired to lead inclusive, positive, and fun meetings with all kinds of interesting, diverse folks.